Thursday, December 19, 2013

Random video of the day!

http://video.disney.com/watch/disneychannel-what-does-the-fox-say-cosplay-4eca8189ccd266c2319d3193

This was the best. I couldn't not post it.

Enjoy!

Wednesday, December 18, 2013

CONTEST!!!

That's right, readers! I am hosting a Magical Girl Ugly Sweater contest! Winner will get a prize (Seeing as there's only two people who probably read this blog regularly, competition isn't going to be too intense. But I am entering as well, so we will be having a non-biased third party judge)

So, rules of the contest!
1. You must design a Christmas sweater with a magical girl theme. Be as creative as possible.
1.5. All work must be drawn-- I don't care if you don't think you are an artist. Designer sketches don't have to be anything fancy. This is going to be judged on concept, not on skill level.
2. All work must be submitted by MONDAY DECEMBER 23rd!!!
3. To submit, follow these three easy steps!

  • Draw your sweater design
  • get it into the computer somehow-via scanner, photo, or industrial espionage
  • upload it on a post in your blog
  • Send me the link to your post in the comment section of this post!
4. On December 24th, I will have a post announcing the winners! I will also showcase all the different sweater designs.
5. By the way, this isn't an optional contest. YOU MUST DO IT OR LOKI WILL NEVER EVER VISIT YOU!!! (I bet you thought I was going to threaten you with Loki. I decided it was a lot more drastic if I threatened you with the absence of Loki. Aren't I evil?)

I can't wait to see what you come up with!
Love and Sparkles,
Kayla

Saturday, December 7, 2013

Character blog!

After being inspired my my dear friend mir, I decided to start a character blog, detailing the life of the my new character, Charlotte Kathrine Darling. You can read all about her here!

Enjoy! She's a fun character, and she's kind of based off of Jekyll and Hyde!

Love and sparkles,

Kayla

The Dreaded Lasagna Monster

I'm sure that you are all wondering about the nature of the title of this post.  I would be too, if I didn't already know what it was about.
You see, the other day, I had a really creepy dream. A--dare I say it-- creepy pasta dream! *badoom-tish!*

During this dream, I was being pursued by a really creepy monster made of lasagna. I know it sounds silly, and I can laugh about it now, but you didn't see what it looked like. It was really creepy. Ugh. I still get a bad feeling just thinking about it, so to spare you the horror, I'm not going to describe it. You're welcome.

So, anyway, I was being chased by the lasagna monster-which moved surprisingly fast for  something made of noodles- throughout my apartment and my house (the background kept changing, I don't know why) until finally we caught it. I say we, because there were multiple people in my dream. I didn't recognize any of them, and they were all wearing lab coats. We pinned the monster to a cookie sheet, and then started to dissect it. But, it wouldn't die. We cut off its arm, and the pasta sauce/riccota/meat mixture you put in lasagna started to ooze out, but then the arm started to regrow. And all the time the beast was making this awful snarling sound.

That's when I woke up. It took me about half an hour to calm down and stop being scared. And then, I was like "What was that even about? Lasagna???"

What kind of weird dreams have you had? Bonus points if you can beat the lasagna monster.

Love and sparkles,
Kayla

Monday, November 25, 2013

Mew Mew style, mew mew grace....

No. Just, no.

Actually, there is a reason for that title! If you haven't noticed from some of my other mew mew art, I've been wanting to try tokyo mew mew in different styles recently. Upcoming ideas I have include Disney style and steam punk!
So, here's a question for you readers:
Is there any particular style you want to see the mew mews drawn in? I am open to suggestion!

Love and Sparkles,
Kayla

Saturday, November 23, 2013

They're back!

THIS IS GOING TO BE IN ALL CAPS TO CONVEY JUST HOW EXCITED I AM!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
MY LITTLE PONY SEASON 4 AIRED TODAY!!!!!!!!!!!!! IT WAS FANTASTIC!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
YOU GET A GLIMPSE INTO CELESTIA AND LUNA'S PAST!!!!!!!!!!!!! AND JUST WHAT WAS WITH THAT (CENSORED) AT THE END???? I NEED TO KNOW BUT PROBABLY WON'T UNTIL THE SEASON FINALE!!!!!!!!!! ARGH!!!!!!!! PONIES, WHY YOU DO THIS TO ME?????
ANY WAY, GO WATCH IT NOW!!!!!!!! IT'S A TWO PARTER BUT BOTH PARTS AIRED BACK TO BACK!!! WATCH IT NOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

LOVE AND TWILIGHT SPARKLES!
KAYLA

Wednesday, November 20, 2013

Discussion Post! What is your view on Christmas Music?

Recently on campus, I've noticed a war being waged between those who think you can listen to Christmas music in November, and those who think you need to wait until after Thanksgiving. What is your view, readers?

Me, personally, I think it is never too early to start thinking about Christmas. I think half the fun of Christmas comes from the anticipation. I also really love the feeling you get when listening to Christmas music, so I have a couple of Christmas songs that live on my iPod year round, so I can have that special feeling at random moments throughout the year. But I can understand wanting to wait; some people feel it detracts from Thanksgiving, one of the more spiritual and commonly overlooked holidays. Maybe it's because turkeys aren't as cute as reindeer. I think that Christmas and Thanksgiving go hand in hand, so I feel that Christmas music can lend to the spirit of Thanksgiving too.

So, what's your position dear readers? Should you wait until after the last bit of cranberry sauce is gone? or do you take off your Halloween costume and turn up the Christmas tunes?

Love and Sparkles,
Kayla

Also, as a side note, What is your favorite thing to listen to for Christmas? For me, it's Josh Groban and Michael Buble. 

Monday, November 18, 2013

Donuts, donuts everywhere, and not a bite to eat

...Actually, I ate more of them than I probably should.

So, funny story of the week! I work at a catering facility, and we do a lot of inter campus deliveries to office parties and whatnot. The math department ordered fifty donuts exactly (why they didn't make things easier for us by ordering 6 dozen or 4 dozen is beyond me). However, somewhere along the line, there was a miscommunication. My theory is that, since people normally order donuts by the dozen (Which is what you should do, really. Who doesn't like a few extra donuts???), the person taking the order assumed that the math department was ordering by the dozen. So, we boxed and delivered.....Fifty dozen donuts. Needless to say, the math department was not happy. You think they would have noticed when we sent them a bill for 300+ dollars earlier. They are the math department, surely they could tell that 300+ dollars was a bit much for fifty donuts.
So, we gave them the donuts, but then bought back one third of them. Work then turned into a donut party. We ate them all in a week, using excuses like, "I just made a delivery! I deserve a donut!" or "I just finished my shift! I deserve a donut!!!" And that is how Kayla got to have free donuts everyday last week!! Hooray!!

The moral of the story is to always check your receipt. Otherwise, you may end up with fifty dozen donuts more than you were planning on.

And by the way, 50 dozen donuts equals 600 donuts. Just in case you were wondering.

Love and Sparkles! (And donuts!!!)
Kayla

Wednesday, November 13, 2013

Tokyo Mew Mew ~Nya~

Well, it's that time again! The time when Kayla posts some of her art! (Which I know are your favorite posts, don't lie) I may seem to have been stagnant in my art as of late, but don't worry! I have simply been doing a lot of art homework, which looks really cool. However, I'm sure you don't want to see drawings of plants and cylinders, so I haven't posted anything (Plus, the art I've been doing in class is simply to large to scan. Once I get a camera, I may post pictures.)

So, I'm sure you're all wondering what it is that I have been working on (Don't look at the title, cheaters). I have been experimenting with a new style of art. I'm not giving up my anime, I just felt like I needed a more stylized-realistic style for when drawing realistic not anime people. They say that when you try out a new style, you should draw something you know really well, so, I drew..... Tokyo mew mew! (Shocked gasp!) Who would have guessed it?
Without further ado, here is Kayla's Art style 2.0!
(Click for full size)
So, as far as this style goes, I personally love it. It still needs some work, but I think that, with practice, I can go far! There are a lot of problems that need to be worked out, such as derpy eyes!--where one eye is looking a slightly different direction-- but that is simply a problem of practice.  (Note: Lettuce's eyes are a little weird, because she has glasses in my original sketch. I erased them, but it kind of changed the shape of her eyes a little.) I think Ichigo came out my favorite, because dang! Look at her skirt! I'm really proud of the satiny texture I got. I tried to get the same texture on everyone sans Zakuro, but it looks the best on Ichigo's skirt. For Zakuro, I tried for more of a vinyl/leather effect, but it turned out kind of the same as the others.... oh well! Live and learn! Oh, and Zakuro's hair came out the best! Sleek and shiny, I can do! Pudding's messy mop of hair.... Well, I tried! And Pudding is a lot more forgiving than Zakuro.... I love the fur texture I used too! It's a technique that I am definitely going to use again. It worked the best on Pudding's gloves though. Also, fun fact: Mint's face actually started out as a doodle of Ichigo. The face looked a little too snobby, so I changed it to Mint. And, in Mint, please pay close attention to her tail feathers, because they are wicked awesome!

Feedback! Tell me, what do you think? Who do you think turned out the best? I want to know! Unless you think this is the most awful thing since moldy bread, in the which case, I don't want to know. Let me live in my delusion that this is a wonderful piece of art.


Love and Sparkles!
Kayla

P.S Just in case the above was a little confusing, I am not giving up my anime style!!!!! Let that be known. I am merely trying new things. Someone can have two styles, yes? At least Loki thinks so. He can use good style and bad style, and still be amazing! Right? good.
Because Loki can be used to justify everything.


Tuesday, November 12, 2013

Please leave me alo- WAIT I'M JUST KIDDING DON'T LEAVE ME LOKI!!!!

Explanation to the title:
Ever since watching Thor 2 last saturday (If you haven't seen it yet, go see it now or I will kill you! not really.... but still, go see it.) I can't get Loki out of my mind. It's both wonderful and infuriating. Thor 2 made me love Loki even more (IF that is even possible) and I just keep thinking about [that one part in the movie] and [that other part that everyone loved] as well as how I [verbed] at [that one scene you know the one I am talking about] and then {ooo! This scene deserves fancy brackets!}. I needed a fix of Loki, and Thor 2 did not disappoint. The only problem (As if Loki could ever be a problem) is that I still haven't come down from my Loki high. I close my eyes and all I see is his dazzling smile, and how much I wanted to give him a hug in  [that one scene again]. Tom Hiddleston took Loki's character to new levels.

Anywho, I will stop now before I start blathering on and on about Loki's hair, eyes, cheekbones, and dimples, though not necessarily in that order. So, before I go, here is your daily fix of Loki!
Enjoy!
Really, that man is just to darn adorable for his own good. How did he have trouble taking over the world again? Oh, I know. He needed an army of kittens instead of creepy aliens. The avengers wouldn't have been able to handle that much adorableness.

Love and (Loki) Sparkles!
Kayla who is now mentally married to Loki.Twice. 

Saturday, October 12, 2013

The Great Chipmunk Adventure

Ah, Nostalgia.
I'm sure everyone has a movie that they watched over and over again as a child. For me, it was the Great Chipmunk adventure. I loved that show, and would beg my mom to rent it from the library over and over again, and then I would watch it as much as possible while it was rented. I had a book on tape version that I would listen to constantly. I loved that show so much.

You know how sometimes you watch a show you loved as a kid, only to realize it wasn't as good as you thought?
Well, not in this case. I watched The Great Chipmunk adventure again just barely, and it did not disappoint. For being made in the 80s, the animation was really good. The songs were catchy, and the plot was still doable.  I loved watching it again just as much as a child.

For those of you who don't know what the Great Chipmunk Adventure is, it's an Alvin and the Chipmunk movie, back when they were first created. It also had the Chippettes, who were and still are my favorites. It is an adorable movie, and if you ever want to kill an hour and 12 minutes, I would definitely recommend you watch it!

Love and Sparkles,
Kayla

Friday, October 11, 2013

Labels

If you take a look over to the left (your left), right under my profile, you will see a lovely gadget called "Labels"
This is if you want to look at specific things. Art posts will be tagged "art" and discussion posts will be tagged "discussion post" This way, you can view these things easier at any time.

Also, Just so you know, I suffer from severe anatidaephobia. It's very serious. I don't know how I function normally from day to day with this very crippling fear looming over my head.

Anatidaephobia is the fear that somehow, somewhere in the world, there is a duck watching you.

Love and Sparkles!
Kayla

Wednesday, October 9, 2013

My Apologies

I apologize for the last post. I was really frustrated and needed to vent.
For those of you who have been worried sick, (spoiler) isn't dead. :D You can all sleep safely.
But man, was she traumatized. She had the creepiest dream.

Anyway, I hope you all have a wonderful day!

Love and Sparkles,
Kayla

P.S Am I the only one excited for the new pokemon generation????
I love Sylveon
Then again, I've always been an Eveelution fan (So. Adorable. I love them all)
BUT NOW EVEE CAN EVOLVE INTO A MAGICAL GIRL MY LIFE HAS NOW PEAKED!!!!!!!!!!

 WHAT'S THAT???? I CAN'T HEAR YOU OVER THE SOUND OF HOW ADORABLE I AM!!!!!

Wednesday, October 2, 2013

FLIP THE FREAKING TABLE

GAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA
AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA
AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA
AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Stupid cliffhanger to be continued episodes!!!!!!!! GRRRRRRR!!
Anyway, I just watched the season premier of "The Mentalist" great tv show, by the way. AND I AM READY TO KILL SOMETHING!!!!!!!!!! (Notice that I said "something instead of "someone" I am going to seriously mangle a piece of paper, so that no innocent bystanders get injured) The episode was great, typical Jane. BUT THEN THE STUPID CLIFFHANGER WHERE YOU DON"T KNOW IF (Spoiler) character was murdered by red john or if he's just trolling. IT'S SO STUPID WHY DO I HAVE TO WAIT A WHOLE WEEK TO KNOW THE ANSWER THIS IS KILLING ME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
And I love Jane (His name is Patrick, btw, but his last name is Jane so that's what everyone calls him)
He has this big secret, and he told lisbon, and he said "don't tell anyone" But she tells Van Pelt, who then tells Rigsby, who tells Cho, because, in Rigsby's own words, "It wouldn't be fair if he were the only one on the team who didn't know."
But it was funny because the minute Van Pelt walks into the room, Jane sighs and looks at Lisbon and says, "You told her."
HOW AM I GOING TO MAKE IT TO NEXT WEEK???????? I WANT TO KNOW NOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! YOU CAN'T KILL OFF (spoiler) IN THE FIRST EPISODE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
GAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA
AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA
AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA
AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I'd put Love and Sparkles, but it seems out of place
Kayla

Tuesday, October 1, 2013

You're both right, gosh dang it!

Helloo! Long time no see!
Anyway, do you want to know what is confusing?
Archaeology. And not the digging up specimens part. The research and the articles part.
You see, people have to prove their claims of "This specimen proves that X people did Y thing." Anndd... Archaeologists love to prove each other wrong. Fervently and sometimes viciously. It reminds me of a nature video where a pack (School? Flock? Ravage??? Lets call it a ravage) A ravage of Squid (It just fits, no?) Tears apart a fellow ravagemate because it was acting tired. It was brutal.
So, to the point.
My archaeology teacher has us discussing and writing papers about a debate that is still going on today in Archaeology called the Clovis-first debate. This debate is about how early people came over to the Americas. Like a good, non-biased teacher, (She's really great, she never tells us what side she's on in any of the archaeological debate) she assigns readings from prominent archaeologists on both sides of the argument.
The problem?
First, technical articles are hard to read. Especially when they start talking about the bifacial fracturing of the lanceolate clovis points and I'm just like, "It looks like a rock...?"
Second, archaeologists are really good at research.
So, I read one article, and I'm thinking, "Holy cow, this guy is right! The original theory is wrong, they came from the Solutreans. Bingo. Problem solved, give this man an award."
And then, the other article, which is against the Solutrean theory, is amazing. It points out all of the places that the other guy has things wrong, or where he didn't provide all the information, etc. etc. However, all it does is prove him wrong, it doesn't provide a solution.
It's all very confusing, because both of the sides have good points, and it's hard to decide what to believe.

So, here's to confusing technical articles!
Love and Sparkles,
Kayla

Wednesday, September 25, 2013

Today has been a doozy

And what a doozy of a doozy it was!
I had my first test in the testing center today.
Dun Dun DUUUUUN!
And it went over quite well, actually.
It was everything else that was the doozy.
You see, I love to wear all of my bat regalia-- well, not all of it-- but most of it. And, since this was my first test, I thought that, for prime testing performance, I would most definitely wear all of my bat jewelry. So, this morning I put on my lucky bat necklace, and its matching lucky bat earrings. And then I picked up my bags and started walking to campus...only to realize that I had forgotten my adorable lucky bat ring. Which is named Frederick. Frederick is especially lucky because he has a name, and he's fuzzy and I like to rub his belly when I get frustrated with a test problem. Don't judge.
Anyway, I didn't want my first test to be without Frederick, so I promptly turned around and went home to get him. I then made it back to school without any further incidence.
Then, at the library, I logged onto a computer with the intent of printing out an assignment due that day. I had emailed it to myself late the previous night just for that purpose. Well, when I got onto my email, lo and behold I had emailed myself....but had forgotten to attach the document. I had written "You need sleep" as the title. Apparently, seeing as I couldn't even email properly.
The testing center was open by then, so I decided that I would simply have to walk all. the. way. back. home. after my test. And that's a good half hour there half hour back kind of trip. I got out of my test (Which went splendidly, thanks for asking!) And it was almost 10 o' clock. I have a class at twelve; that would give me an hour for the trip, and then an hour to print/eat lunch/ brush up on the reading/ breath. I pull out my iPod so that I can be occupied for my long commute, and it's almost dead. That's simple, I already have to turn my computer on for my paper, I can just plug it in and charge it... which means that I won't have it for the rest of the day. That is a long walk without music, let me tell you.
So, I emailed it to myself without any more accidents, walked all the way back to school, and went to the JKB to print/get some food from the vending machine (They have sandwiches in those things! And ICE CREAM!!!) And I print of my paper and get some victuals. Then, I go to the MARB for my biology class. Absolutely nothing wrong there.
But then, in my archaeology class (All the way back in the JKB), where the assignment is due, I get to class barely on time, pull out my assignment and...
I'm missing the first page. I must have left it in the printer. I go and talk to the teacher, and she says that I can run and go print it. I sprint back to the printer I had printed on earlier, and some kind soul had removed the first page from the printer, and had left it there on the desk. Thank you, random stranger, for not throwing it away!!!!
And then I take the long walk home.

More stuff happened, but it's not quite as interesting (Well, it does involve walking in the rain without a coat but with an umbrella, but that's another story.)

Love and Sparkles!
Kayla

Monday, September 16, 2013

Sometimes I don't make sense in my head

I literally just had this conversation in my head:

Me: What to eat for dinner?
(looks around in cupboard)
Me: Ooh, pasta sounds good! But I better not; you never know when I might need it later.
(Opens fridge)
Me: I could make something with potatos! Or have a grilled cheese sandwich. But bread is expensive, so I'd better not.
(Looks in freezer)
Me: The frozen dinners look good, except I might need them for another dinner.
(Closes freezer. Pauses for a second.)
Me: Silly Kayla, you need to actually eat something. Your logic is useless if you die now of starvation because you are saving everything for "later".
...
The sad thing is I have a similar 'conversation' every night.


Any way, I also need to stop saving my laundry for Mondays; I figure, no one does laundry on Mondays! It will be brilliant! And then I go into the laundrymat and remember: It's P-day, and all the missionaries are doing their laundry. Figures. It's reeeeaaaalllly awkward when you are trying to put your undergarments in the laundry machine and there's a missionary right next to you.

Love and Sparkles,
Kayla

P.S Don't worry, I do eventually eat something.

Sunday, September 15, 2013

This is kind of creeping me out

My toys rearrange themselves. Either that, or it's like toystory, and they come to life and have their own personality.

This one happened a while ago: I have six beautiful dragon statues that I have arranged in a nice line by color. One morning, I woke up, and the dragons had changed positions, and two of them were facing each other. I fixed them, thinking Meghan had moved them, and that was that. Well, the next morning, the two dragons had moved again, and the one that had been between them was knocked over. I decided to leave the two next to each other. It was obvious they had a thing for each other.

Now, in my apartment, my toys have been doing it again. The first one is explainable, though a little funny, and the second one is kind of sad. I have a giant toothless plushy, from How to train your dragon, and a purple elephant on my bed. This morning, when I woke up, toothless-keep in mind that this plushy has an open mouth-had moved and was nomming my elephant pillow. It looked pretty realistic; I guess he got hungry.

And, just barely, while I was at church, Derpy and the Doctor had an argument. How do I know this?
Because I always keep them nose to nose, looking dreamily into each others' eyes. When I got home, they had moved so that they were angled away from the other person. And this might be my imagination, but they both looked kind of... sad. I know that their faces are painted on, but their eyes looked sad. I know that my roommate didn't move them, because she was at church with me, and we don't touch one another's stuff.

I am going to move them back so they can make up, and hopefully that's the end of it.

Love and sparkles,
Kayla

Wednesday, September 11, 2013

Polls!

Just for fun, and for something I want to try out, I've decided to have regular polls! You can find them to the right.
I just thought that it would be another fun way to have feedback from my viewers! So go and vote!
Remember, the word "Idiot" comes from a Greek word that means "Someone who doesn't vote." Think about it.

Love and Sparkles,
Kayla

P.S I'm sure you're wondering, "Why is Kayla Polling us?" Well, I might be using it for something in the future, and this is just a test run....


Friday, September 6, 2013

In which Kayla survives her first week of College

So, in a nutshell, my week in college went a little bit like this:
Just watch the first little bit, and replace all of the mother worrying with "I can do this" to "oh my gosh, college is going to kill me, ect. ect."

Anyway, this week had it's ups and downs, but overall, I think that I can make it!

.....Hopefully.

So, highlights from this week:
My biology class has an attractive Russian TA,
I absolutely love love love all of my classes
I saw some of the Studio C cast and stared at them like a stalker...
Fun story: So, in English, when we introduced ourselves, we were supposed to say something interesting about ourselves, and so I said "I love the color purple, and I wear it almost every day." And then the professor got really excited and pointed at me and said, "I saw you this morning! I was driving with my little girl, and we saw you at a cross walk, and my daughter, who loves the color purple, was really happy and pointed and said "Mommy! Look! I bet she loves purple too!" You really made my daughter's day.'
Isn't it a great feeling to know that someone was happy just because you were being you? I think so.

Also, a few of my classes have a fun kind of final:
For my Freshmen seminar class (Which is kind of an introductory class about all of the different art majors) the teacher gives us all a pinewood derby kit two weeks before last day of class. Then, we have to make an artsy derby car, and then we get to have a big party in the HFAC (the art building) late at night to race pinewood derbies and to party and to just blow off steam before finals get crazy.

The other final is in my biology class; we have to do a group project (which I'm not too happy about, I sort of hate group projects, but the assignment made up for it) but in that project we have to do a cool presentation about an organism........ From the land of Middle Earth. That's right, readers, we're talking a Lord of the Rings creature!!
In the past, groups have gotten pretty creative- last year, she said, one of the groups had a theater make-up major, and so she made one of the group members into an orc!
Then, of course, the teacher added that while the sky was the limit, we couldn't do anything dangerous, to which one of the male students had to say, "Does that mean that I can't build a fireproof suit, light myself on fire and call myself a balrog?" The teacher laughed and said "Of course you can't" And then she made jokes about it for the rest of the class period.

Love and Sparkles,
Kayla

Wednesday, September 4, 2013

Discussion Post of Magical Awesomeness!

....I might regret using that title later.

So, are you ready for a discussion post again? The last one worked so well (Both readers commented!) That I decided to do another one!

All right, you are now a magical girl. Ah ah ha! Don't argue! You have irrevocably become one of the loftiest beings known to man. And every pre-adolescent girl (And most post adolescent girls too, but we like to pretend differently) wants to know: Just who are you?
And that is where discussion time comes in! What kind of magical girl are you? Are you a kick-butt crime fighter, or do you transform into a pop star? The choice is yours. Just tell us, in this exclusive reveal all news scoop-- I mean, private discussion-- everything that makes you a magical girl.

And I want costume details, what kind--if any-- of mascot you have, what your signature color, phrase, and battle attack are, your weapon of choice, anything and everything.

Now, here's the part where I splurge:
The truth of the matter is, I haven't really thought that much about it. Wait no, really! I do have a costume idea...
(It would look like this, only Purple)
And I'm pretty sure my mascot would be a Bat, or a mouse. But other than that, nothing. I don't know what kind of enemy I'd fight, or what my catch phrase would be. I think weapon wise, I've always kind of preferred bow and arrows, or a nice spear to swords and stuff, but I think I would look cool with an elegent foil clipped to my side. Or I'd just fight with a pretty magic wand!

So, readers, tell me about you!

Love and Sparkles,
Kayla


EXTRA BONUS!!!!!
This made my life!

A penny for your thoughts?

Nay, fair reader, for my thoughts are worth far more than money can buy.

... Which is why I'm going to let you read them for free.

You see, my college schedule leaves me with several breaks in between classes. And by breaks, I mean I've got a good four hour span between my morning and afternoon classes... Yup.

Because of this, I've had a lot of free time with my thoughts as I meander through campus, and whenever said thoughts strike me as FANTASTICALLY BRILLIANT I decide to write them down. However, rereading my musings from the past few days has caused me to realize something:

You know how your little voice that talks to you in your head (No, not those voices)  I mean the way your voice sounds when you are thinking to yourself. Have you ever noticed that it sounds different from the way you normally talk? I've noticed-- with myself especially-- that people have different 'voices', one for friends, one for adults, one in their head, so on and so forth. For example, my sister can be very polite to her elders and strangers, but she can have a very sarcastic 'voice' when she is talking with me or her friends.

Well, here is my discovery: My "mind" voice sounds like a proper English lady. Does this come as a surprise to anyone?
Perhaps, if you ask nicely, I may post some of my musings. One is about a horrid massacre that took place on campus on the first day of school, and the other is about me being bored.

Love and Sparkles,
Kayla

Tuesday, September 3, 2013

In which Kayla almost disrupts class...

...by screaming for joy when the teacher says, "You will have to write a 5-7 page term paper." I didn't even care what the topic was about. I am so excited to have homework again!!!!!! GAH!  I've really been desperate the past little while-- I even offered to write an outline for my sister when she was having problems writing an essay. And then I wrote her an outline... for fun.

But now no more! I can do my own homework!!!

Let's see how long it takes for the joy of homework to wear off. I'm thinking next week.

Love and Sparkles,
Kayla

Monday, September 2, 2013

Wish Me Luck!

So, tomorrow I start college for real! Hooray!!!
Wish me luck!
Tomorrow I just have a three hour long art class starting at eight in the morning (woo-hoo! No seriously, I do my best work in the morning!) and then I have nothing after that until two or so. Party for me not really, I'll be using that to study

Any way, luck to everyone who is starting something new this week!

Love and sparkles,
Kayla

Thursday, August 29, 2013

Kayla's New Apartment

Well, I'm almost completely moved in! Huzzah! I just have a few more things to unpack and move around my room, and then I am done!
So, about my new apartment:
It's really nice, for one thing, and bigger than I had been expecting. It's on the bottom floor, so I don't have to worry about hearing people below me. The only problem is I can hear people above me... I have a reeeeaaally big closet all to myself, with a lot of shelves! And here I was worrying that I wouldn't have enough room to put everything! Now it seems that I have too much...
My bed is really nice too- super comfy. The only problem is that it's a top bunk. Now, it's a lot more sturdy than the one I have at home- that thing, even though it's not going to fall over, shakes like crazy and it feels like the whole thing is going to topple under you while you sleep. This bed doesn't shake at all.  I'm just highly suspicious of anything that is taller than me. And boy is it tall- I can't sit up straight on top, because I'd hit my head, and that's a sensation I'm not used to. It makes me feel tall to hit my head on the ceiling. But besides that, everything is peachy!
And my roommate(s?) are really nice-I've only met one so far, but the other one gets here today!

Love and Sparkles,
Kayla

P.S Is it weird that my bag of stuffed animals is bigger than my bag of shoes? 

Tuesday, August 27, 2013

In which Kayla boxes up her life and sends herself off to college

There is nothing more satisfying than paying the last little bit of tuition with money that you earned yourself. It's official: I am going to college, whether I like it or not.

...Not that I'm not super excited to go to college. On the contrary, I'm ecstatic! I'm just a little nervous about moving away from home. Not that I don't want to- I'm ready to leave. I'm just not sure I'm ready for what moving out signifies. I'm not sure I'm ready to face the idea of growing up and moving out and 'cutting the ol' apron strings', so to speak.
 I'll probably feel better after I've actually moved out.

On a different note, I really shouldn't watch Magical Girl anime when it's "That time of the month" anymore; I cry like crazy, and not just during the inspirational scenes (Which is why I reeeaally shouldn't watch precure during "that time of the month", because part of being a pretty cure is giving inspiration speeches.) I started tearing up today during one of the transformation scenes. A transformation scene, for goodness sake. I remember thinking "It's so beautiful...." And then there were tears in my eyes. I am so pathetic. But it was really beautiful.....
I cry during Tokyo mew mew all the time too. I can't help myself....
No more magical girls for you Kayla! Not until you can control your tears.

Love and sparkles,
Kayla


Okay self I take it back watch as many magical girls as you want! Go watch princess tutu that will make you cry because it is so beautiful!

Movie reviews!

The past couple of days, I've been able to watch a movie during lunch!! I've been missing that while at work. Since these were movies I don't think anyone who reads this has seen, I thought it would be fun to review them.

 First off is Alice in the Country of Hearts: The movie

As a fan of the manga, I was reeeaaally excited when I heard that there was going to be an anime movie version. I finally had the opportunity to watch it yesterday, and here's what I think:

First off, the animation was stunning: Gorgeous backgrounds, flawless transitions, wonderful character animation. I don't remember seeing any animation errors at all. And the way they changed the sky back and forth was astounding. For those of you who aren't familiar with the series, the sky in Wonderland changes without warning; it can go from being the middle of the night to sunset in a flash. Time is relative there.

Second, the characters! As said above, all of the character designs were spot on! And the voices were amazing! Completely perfect with what I had in my mind. And it was nice that Tweedle Dee and Tweedle Dum had slightly different voices, rather than the same for each. And Julius had the most perfect deep melting voice. Sigh.... And the personalities for the characters were spot on as well! I loved the way Vivaldi said, "Off with their head!" In a very authoritative and yet bored manner. And Alice's voice was very perfect- cute and flustered sounding. Which is perfect, because she spends half her time scolding everyone.

Now, on to the plot. Sigh. It was a little confusing for me, and I've read all of the manga. It was done in a way that if you didn't know the story, it would have made no sense. It was difficult to follow as it was. The scenes sort of switched back and forth from flashback to present to flashback, without much transition notice or lead in. That lead to the story line feeling a little disjointed. However, one nice thing was that it went into some details that were a little vague in the book, like what really happened to Alice's sister. And the scene with little Blood and Vivaldi was just so precious! Another fun part was where Alice introduced everyone.

The biggest flaw of the movie was that there wasn't enough Boris. This is a major sin that needs to be rectified; they hinted that there was going to be a sequel, and I hope they do. A sequel might help them tie things up better, and explain them better as well.

Now, despite the story line, the scripting was marvelous! All of the lines were amazing, and the dialogue between characters was hilarious.
All in all, I give the movie three out of five stars. I really loved it, but they should have made things clearer, so that people who have no idea of the story can enjoy it as well. Kind of like Harry Potter; everything makes so much more sense if you've read the books, but they are entertaining regardless of you reading the books or not.

And now, in an attempt to rectify the movies lack of Boris, here he is!!! And by lack, I don't mean that he wasn't in it at all. He had a couple of good scenes. But, seeing as he's probably the most popular character, they could have put him in more.
I love Boris so much. A lot of my inspiration for Cheswick comes from him.

All Righty now! The movie I watched today was.... Drumroll please..........
Pretty Cure All Stars New Stage: Kokoro no tomodachi! (which means friends of the heart, by the way.)

I have to say, I liked it better than the first New stage, but I think All Stars DX 3 is still my all time favorite.
Just like the other precure movies, the animation was amazing!!!!!!!! So many sparkles and rainbows and beautiful colors! Flawless, just flawless. If anything, precure is known for its quality.

And Characters! It was a little sad in the first New Stage how they barely had some of the older precure in it. This time, each generation was well represented. They still didn't have everyone talking, but they had at least one girl from each group say something. I think that it's probably due to the fact that with that many precure, it's expensive and hard to get all of the voice actors, so I'm grateful that Cure Black actually got to speak this time. 

One thing I think is interesting about the New Stage movies, is that they have the main characters not be the pretty cure, in a way. This story was about a precure fairy in training who wanted to fight on his own. A shadow creature turned him to the dark side, and they set out to defeat the precure. However, he sees the error of his ways, and changes sides to help the precure defeat the bad guy. I almost started crying in the scene when two of the precure-Cure Beat and Cure Passion- see Gureru (The fairy who turned bad) Helping the precure. When they ask "Weren't you the one helping the shadow?" Gureru starts crying, and explains to them why he did it and asks for their forgiveness. Then, Cure Passion and Beat both smile and forgive him, and then give him some inspirational advice (That's what precure do, they save the world and give inspirational speeches.) Then they leave to go fight some more. This scene especially touched my heart, because both Cure Beat and Cure Passion started off the series as assistants to the bad guys, only later realizing their errors and joining the precures after being befriended by one of the precures. I thought that it was really sweet, because I love it in movies/books when they have someone who has made a mistake comforting someone who made the same mistake.

All in all, I'd give this movie four point five out of five stars. Everything ran smooth, I just wish that there had been a little more precures in it. I like the idea of using other characters for the storyline, but I wish they would incorporate the precures in it a little better. After all, the movies are about seeing all of the past precure again, and having them meet the new precure.

Also, I love the idea of a pretty cure textbook! Except, the villain found a copy, and used it to defeat the precures. Lucky for them, since the Doki Doki precure were pretty new, they weren't in the book yet, so the villain had no idea what he was up against!

Also, Enen and Gureru were the cutest things ever! Enen is the fox, and Gureru is the racoon/bear who went evil and then turned good.


All in all, I'd recommend both movies! They were excellent, in spite of a few flaws.

Love and Sparkles,
Kayla
P.S Sorry for the long post. I wanted to review both movies, and it seemed silly to do two separate posts.

Monday, August 26, 2013

How to never get caught for Murder

In two easy steps!
1. Never murder someone

2. Repeat step one as often as needed.


All joking aside, sorry that I haven't written anything for the past few days. I've been super busy working and getting ready to move out.

Also, I am making the most sinful dessert every. I should be punished. It's so bad that my mouth waters just thinking of it.
For some context, my mom got a cook book called "Sticky chewy messy gooey." It is basically a book full of the most decadent desserts, with really helpful dessert cooking tips, and information about the difference between caramel and butterscotch, the difference between baking powder and soda, as well as tips on what type of ingredient to use. It also has fun quotes throughout, my favorite being something to the extent of "It's not those without love that seek chocolate, but those without chocolate that seek love." oh, and yes, in my free time sometimes I read cookbooks. I will read anything I can get my hands on.

Anyway, you know those cake pops that are so popular? Well, this book had a picture of some on the back, and I was curious as to what the recipe was-I've just sort of created my own. It turns out, they weren't exactly cake pops....

They were cheese cake pops.

Those of you who really know me well would know that Cheese cake is my weakness. I love it to death.... it's just sooooooooo good!

Anyway, I decided to make them today. Only, we didn't have any sucker sticks, and they are kind of messy to make.... conveniently, my grandma gave me a big box of chocolate molds (I think there is an ulterior motive on her part... She knows that I love making desserts and chocolates, and I think that giving me all the molds was an invitation to make them some) and one of the molds is perfectly shaped for cake balls! Ergo, I am making fancy, non-messy cheesecake balls!!!

Now for the sinful part. You see, the recipe is called New York Cheese Cake pops. New York cheesecake is probably the most deliciously decadent of cheesecakes. For dipping chocolate, we have a bag of dark chocolate Ghiradelli melting chocolates. If you've never tried Ghiradelli chocolates, you've never lived. And then, I had a brilliant idea of adding some caramel sauce to the bottom of the cheesecake-chocolates, making them dark chocolate caramel cheesecake balls of deliciousness...
Oh drool.

And I just took the cheesecake part out of the oven, and it looks fabulous!

Love and Sparkles,
Kayla

Friday, August 9, 2013

Discussion post!

           I really like getting comments on my blog, so I've decided that from time to time I will post discussion posts! These are designed so that I can both talk about things and then you guys can respond with your own answers! :D This is all part of a schedule I'm thinking of... More on that later.

So, Discussion time!
     Your novel-either the one you are working on right now, or your favorite novel you have ever written, etc.- is now being made into a movie! The producers and writers have asked for your help in the movie making process, including but not limited to: Casting the characters, writing the script, and input in the scenery and costuming.
   Letting the authors being involved is a new idea that movie makers have been having. It has lead to movies being very close to the books-just look at Harry Potter 7.  However, it can lead to problems. The movie Ender's game also let the author have his input. The author sort of caused some problems, as there were several details from the book that he insisted be shown in the movie that the producers wanted to cut.  Now, we all know that movies can't be 100% accurate in anything, and that some things from the book will be cut, but what are some things that you as an author wouldn't budge on? What are some details or some scenes that you would insist on being in the movie?

     I think for me my biggest thing would be getting the characters right. I'm okay with giving some leeway on some minor details, but I spend a lot of time designing my character, and I have them designed in the best way possible. I think I would freak if any character detail was the slightest bit off. I would insist on Cheswick having odd colored eyes and pink hair, I don't care how unmanly it may look, it's the way he is, Ameline would have to be albino (I don't care if it would look a little creepy, she's darling and albino and that's that) and Alice has to be blonde and Dorothy has to have brown hair. It's actually a big pet peeve of mine when movies change the hair color of characters.
     As for scenes, I'm not sure. It's kind of the same as the characters: I put a lot of thought into my scenes, and it's hard to decide which ones are unnecessary.  But I have some scenes that I can see being combined and others that aren't as important.

Now what about you?

Love and Sparkles,
Kayla
P.S Stay tuned for the "Which actors would you want to play what character?"

Tuesday, July 30, 2013

Do you know that feeling...?

The one where you have a really cool idea for a cosplay but nothing to cosplay to?
I do.
I just realized that I have the perfect Draculaura costume (well, not perfect. It looks just like her, but the colors are reversed XD) But Halloween is months away, and I want to use it now... Sigh. Someone needs to have a costume party stat.
The only problem is that it's way way to hot outside for a costume party. Costumes are usually pretty hot, and so Halloween and thereabouts is really the best time for costuming, because the temperature is nice to costumes.
I guess I'll have to wait anyway.
On a plus note, just bought the cutest Sailor Moon shirt from Saver's!

Love and Sparkles,
A Kayla who is not cosplaying right now. Unfortunately.

P.S It's kind of awkward how many of my conversations with my sister are about Percival's muscly arms
Because he's too cool for sleeves.

Thursday, July 25, 2013

Oh. My. Badness!



I'm pretty sure that this video speaks for itself.

EDIT: I just watched the most amazing thing ever. So, instead of spamming you guys with another movie post, I put it below.

Monday, July 22, 2013

UUUUUUUUUUUUUUUWAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAH!

AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAH!
Spoiler alert!!! At comiccon, the animators released a preview of some of season fours episodes!!!!!!!!! GAH!!!!!!!!!! The intensity! It doesn't show much, just enough to make you anxious for the new season. If you don't want spoilers, don't watch, and don't read the stuff below the clip.
It's boss.
 


GAH!!!!!!!!! So this means that they're going to actually have the equestria games! WOOHOO! And super heroes??? I wonder if Spike is dreaming... It looks like it's going to be a fun episode!!!!!!!!!!!! Super ponies!!!!!!!!!!!! And another Apple family song! Except, why is pinkie a member of the Apple family? Curious and curiouser.... And OHMIGOSH!!!!!!!!!!!! Do you think Luna goes bad again, or do you think twilight is in Celestia's memories??? I think so, because Luna seemed like she was talking to Celestia. SO. AWESOME. I've always wanted to know more about Celestia and Luna's past. 


I am soooooo excited!!!!


 Love and Sparkles,
Kayla

Saturday, July 20, 2013

You're a gnome with me...

I love Rhett and Link. Their videos are the best! Plus, they have really nice singing voices.
Anyway, these are the best things ever. Go Google Captions!!!
 I think it's pretty self explanatory.


Also, as a suggestion, I would recommend also watching "Photoshop your memories,""My favorite pillow," And the tee-shirt one. They're great.
And the original caption fails are really funny too.

Love and Sparkles,
Kayla

In which some good comes from a Justin Bieber Doll

So, I finished work early yesterday. As stated in an earlier post, our car is being fixed right now, so we have a rental car. I'm not allowed to drive the rental, so my mom has to pick me up from work. (Not that I want to drive the car anyway, it's super big and I would feel so awkward driving it... I like small cars.)
 Anyway, I texted my mom to come pick me up, but she didn't because her phone was dead and she didn't get my text. So, I suddenly had free time to look around Saver's. Now, in my defense, I wasn't going to look at the dolls. Honestly. I was just walking past the place where they are, when something caught my eye:
It was the tackiest Justin Bieber Doll in the world. In the universe. It had cheesy plastic hair (Although, I guess that was better than real doll hair, because then it would just be a mess...) and it was made of a really cheap looking plastic. It even had his stupid little dove tattoo. Tacky, right? And, like most of the dolls at Saver's, this one didn't come with any clothes. Luckily, the manufacturers had had the decency to paint on a pair of underwear, which is really nice of them. Protect Justin Bieber's modesty!
   So, as I was looking at this unbeliebably (Pun intended) tacky doll, I noticed a swath of blue hair in some of the many dolls behind him. Curious, I looked closer, and guess what it was!
It was a lovely Ghoulia doll!
And by lovely, I mean Hair wasn't even messy, joints still worked, no fingers missing, came with all her clothes on and everything lovely! In fact, she looked like she had just come out of the box! Squee!!! So, of course, when my mom came, I borrowed five dollars to buy her.
  The funny thing is, she only cost four dollars, whereas my Draculaura cost five. That's the problem with Saver's: The price depends solely on how much the pricer deems it worthy, so different pricers lead to different ideas of quality. I don't mind paying five dollars for Draculaura, but I just found it kind of funny that the lesser quality doll (Mind you, she's still in really nice quality, and I love her to life) costed more than a fully clothed almost mint condition doll. The perk of the matter is that I got two nice monster high dolls for half the price of a new doll (They usually cost about 17-20 dollars, depending on the set) so Kayla is very much so happy!

On a side note, I've told my mother that I won't buy anymore dolls. She just rolled her eyes and said, "That's what you told me yesterday." to which I replied,
"If people would just stop getting rid of their monster high dolls, then I wouldn't have to buy them."
So, Thank you Justin Bieber doll, for leading me to a bargain buy!
Oh, and the Ghoulia that I bought is in her pajamas! So cute! I love how they match her blue hair with cherry red accessories!

Love and Sparkles,
Kayla

Friday, July 19, 2013

In which Kayla is not some creeper who buys dolls

...Right?
One of the problems with working at Saver's is that I get to see all of the merchandise. Now, as an employee, I get a pretty hefty discount. However, the only things that I have bought with this discount are two naked dolls (The problem with Saver's is that people seem to always donate their dolls without any clothes on... Weird right? You don't want the doll, but you want the clothes??? I mean, show some decency, people. The dolls that come with clothes get bought quicker...) I wonder what the cashiers think about me. I'll probably have to buy some clothes or something soon.
Anyway, I didn't mean to get two dolls (They were both bought at separate times, so this is two instances they can hold against me) The first doll was an old Winx club doll, I think. I'm not sure. Anyway, I got that one because I've been wanting to do a customization on a doll for a while now, and Saver's is a good place to get the bodies, because that way you're not buying a completely new doll just to take it apart and do things to it. You can get dolls in pretty good condition. So, this doll looked perfect for something I had in mind, so I got her. I will be posting a blog later on(Prolly next week) About the process I've gone through to change her and make clothes, ect.
Then, the other day, There was a Draculaura doll!!! In really nice condition. Her hair's a little messy, she doesn't have any clothes, and she's missing a finger, but besides that, she's perfect! Her joints all work nicely too. Now, this happened to be the one day that I didn't bring my wallet to work. Genius, right? Well, our car is in the shop (Some distracted teen rear-ended my mom) and I can't drive Chris's car on account that I can't drive stick yet, so I had to be dropped off at work. So, seeing as I didn't need my wallet, I left it at home to make my purse lighter. And of course, that would be the day that Draculaura showed up. I had been keeping my eyes open in hope that any monster high doll would come into the store, and I was ecstatic when it was Draculaura. If you didn't know, Draculaura is my absolute favorite!!!! Happy day. Until I realized that I didn't have the money to buy her. Oops. My mom was nice and we drove back there later so I could buy her. Now, I have two dolls that need to be fixed up. Oh fun for me!

Also, something that I've been having for lunch lately that is Really Good:
Kayla's really good lunch recipe:
One piece of toast bread (Or normal bread. We just have a special bread that tastes really good as toast)
Lunchmeat-I use applewood smoked ham.
Cheese-Again, you can use what you want, but I've discovered that Muenster cheese tastes particularly good with Applewood smoked ham.
Honey mustard-You can make your own by mixing dijon mustard with honey

First, layer two slices of lunchmeat with a slice of cheese on the bread. (I fold them fancy, and then put the cheese on top.)
Broil in a toaster oven or in a regular oven on the broil setting. I've found three minutes on high works good.
Drizzle the honey mustard on top. Eat warm.

Also, has anyone tried jicama? It's sooo good. 

Love and Sparkles,
Kayla

Wednesday, July 17, 2013

The hidden dangers of Frozen Yogurt

You know you have a problem when you have more Menchie's spoons than real spoons....
it's not my fault they look soooooooo cute.

Anyway, I came home with Menchies one day ( If you don't know, Menchie's is the abso-freaking-lutely most cutest frozen yogurt shop... It's sooo colorful, and there are chalkboards to draw on while you eat... it's the best. Plus, everything is really nicely labeled, with allergy information and whether or not it's kosher clearly marked. Isn't that nice?) with some fro yo, and my mother looked at me and said,
   "I'd better give you the smileage card. I have a feeling you might be going there a lot."
Well no, it can be a little expensive if you're not careful, and there's no better way to pack on the calories then frozen dairy products. But the problem is...
 It's MENCHIES.
  When I get off work, I'm hot, tired, and usually hungry. This is especially problematic when my shift ends in the middle of the afternoon. I have just spent the day hearing little children asking their mothers for Menchie's after they finish shopping, seeing happy people walking past the store with Menchie's bowls of frozen yogurt. And then, when I exit the store, I look both ways before I cross the street, and then...
 There it is. The bright, colorful, cute menchie's store is right there in my peripheral vision.
Menchie's couldn't pay for better subliminal messaging.

The question is, will I be able to survive a summer of seeing Menchie's every day (Well, almost every day...) and not buying it all the time? The good thing is that usually my wallet is stronger than my stomach, but only time will tell..

Also, this has nothing to do with Menchie's (Or does it???) But fresh mango tastes soooo good. Yum. I am eating slices while typing this.

Just so you guys get to know what I deal with:
How could you say no to that face? That, my friends, is the face of a cold-hearteed (No pun intended) evil genius who knows how to get you to give him millions of dollars for his delicious yogurt....

Love and Sparkles,
Kayla

Tuesday, July 9, 2013

In which Kayla gets a job.


This title is reminiscent of one of my favorite books, Howl's Moving Castle. The titles all began like that: In which Howl dyes his hair, or something like that.

Any way, I got a job!!! Squeeee!! I work at Saver's, with a pretty hefty employee discount! I get to work mornings, which is perfect for me, and I get to spend the morning organizing things, also perfect for me! I knew my annoying attention to detail would come in handy one day
Rarity is so proud of me.

Also, have you ever noticed that is seems that the more you have to do in a day, the more time it seems you have? I know that sounds backwards, but I've noticed that the more I accomplish, the longer my day seems.

That is all I have for today, so Farewell!
Love and Sparkles,
Kayla
P.S I think that "Love and Sparkles" is working pretty well, and will probably stay unless I can think of something better.


Saturday, July 6, 2013

For the Friendship of the Earth...I'll be of Service!



Click for full-Size

Once upon a time...Kayla decided to draw the characters from Tokyo Mew Mew (Which is probably her favorite anime ever) as ponies (another one of her favorite things ever) and this is what came of it. She also decided to stop typing in third person.

So, here they are! My favorite mews as My Little Pony-or dare I say, Mew Little Pony- characters. :D Notice how I carefully made it so that none of their cutie marks are showing? That's because I didn't know what to make them.... I was just going to make it their mew mark, but I don't think that being a mew mew is their special talent....

Any way, this was especially fun to draw! I wanted to make it look like a scene from the last episode, so the background is based off of a screen shot I took from episode fifty.

Now, for explanations!
I decided that, as the leader, Ichigo- Strawberry Love, as I decided her pony name is- needed to be a unicorn. How else can you defeat evil with magical powers? Mint-or Mint Tea, from the prestigious Tea family- would of course be a pegasus. Lettuce- who currently doesn't have an official name, because I can't think of anything better than Lettuce Leaf- I decided would be an earth pony who turns into a sea pony when she transforms into a mew mew which makes her completely useless on land I'm so sorry. Pudding- same thing as Lettuce, any better ideas than Pudding Cup?- is definitely an earth pony. I mean, her element is Earth and everything. And finally, Zakuro- Pomegranate Rose-  didn't seem like she could be anything but a kickbutt unicorn (or an alicorn, but that would really fit Ichigo better, and we don't really need any more alicorns...) and then, voila! This wonderful picture happened from a silly little doodle of mew ponies!

Love and Sparkles,
Kayla

Wednesday, July 3, 2013

Wait, What?

Kayla's posting two things a day???
What is this world coming to?


I just wanted to take a moment and briefly talk about one-now two- of my many fascinations...
Children's toys, specifically, Monster High.

For those of you who do not know what that is, it is a line of girl's dolls done by mattel (makers of barbies) based off of a high school where the children of famous monsters go to learn. The toys themselves are pretty cool, made with ball joints like the japanese bjds, which I think are both beautiful and a little creepy, so it's perfect for a series of monster dolls!
To go along with the dolls, there is also a series of webisodes (they're on season three now, I'm so happy!) Each webisode is about three minutes long. On top of that, they've also made several movies, which are soo cute.
The episodes are pretty cliche, but what high school story isn't cliche? that's what makes it funny because it's true.
Another thing I like about monster high is that they promote being unique, and that you shouldn't be ashamed of your differences, that you should celebrate them.
Plus, I love that while the main focus is on the main ghouls ( aka "girls" in monster high talk. Did I mention that it's full of puns? it's the best) the show isn't afraid to have episodes based off of the minor characters. Also, the monsters are from different cultures too, and I like how natural it feels.
And, the main ghouls themselves are well done. Just like My Little Pony and Tokyo Mew Mew, I feel like I can see a little of myself in them. But my all time favorite is Draculara, because she is a short lolita vampire who is just soooo cute. And short. :D But the others are really fun too. And Frankie is so adorkable.


Now, my newest fascination is... Ever After High! Mattel is doing a monster high spin off line, only this time it's a high school where the children of fairy tale characters go to learn how to eventually replace their parents and live out the same story. Just like monster high, it's a little cliche, but it's fun to see how they fit all these different characters into the series (they even have the little dutch boy! No one usually even remembers the little dutch boy!) and, like monster high, it has a really good message, only this one is that you should follow your heart, and not what everyone expects you to do.
My favorite character is Maddie, who is the daughter of the Mad Hatter. She is the best! She's a lot like pinkie pie, and she's the only one who can hear the narrators. Plus, her pet is a grey mouse named Earl Grey. So cute!


My favorite thing about both lines are the outfits: amazing. With monster high, everything is bold, with each character having a unique style, ranging from lolita to rockabilly to steam punk! Each character's look is fresh and new, and very bold. And now, with ever after high, the designs are more lolita-esque, but the colors are very vintage feeling, and soo cute! My favorite design is probably Goldie lock's daughter. Her dress has little cameos of the three bears on it. And her Ipad is soo cute too!
And both series are full of puns. Got to love it! :D
Here's one of my favorite episodes (Jackson was included for once!) Although, it doesn't have Abby in it.. She's another favorite. Oh well. 



And here's the intro into the world of Ever After high! The only thing that bugs me is Apple's name. Couldn't they be more creative? Everyone elses' name is really cool (ASHlynn as CINDERella's daughter? That's good)


Wow, that was a long post! Enjoy!
Love and Sparkles,
Kayla

Do you know what this blog needs?

...More sparkles.

Anyway, I just had a hilariously wonderful idea for a fan fic, which is weird because I usually don't believe in fan fiction.

My idea was this "Magical Girl Academy"
It came to me when I told my little sister that I have decided to major in magical girls. She then asks me "What classes would you have to take to be a magical girl major?"
This spurred the idea of a school that specified in teaching girls how to become magical girls, and I thought it would be fun to write a fan fic with some of my favorite characters as the students.
Here are a list of classes:
Bishounen 101: How to pick the right guy.
The Proper use of Shoujo Sparkles
Fighting Monsters: the how, where, and when
The Science of Magical transformations: How to make a sequence of three minutes fit into a second
And various other classes.


You can return to your lives now.

Love and Sparkles!
Kayla

Wednesday, June 26, 2013

Ennui

Big fancy word of the day meaning "Boredom."
Sigh....
I'm sure I'm not the only one dealing with Summer boredom so I'll save you my problems. It just always seems like everyone is hanging out with everyone else and no one seems to invite me.  Which is fine, I guess. It's just that I've never really had a "Best Friend," so to speak. I've had a couple of really good friends that I consider "best friends," but when it comes down to the wire, they always have someone else who they consider their best friend. I'm used to it by now, and to tell the truth, I don't really open myself up to people the way your supposed to to get a best friend, so I guess it's kind of my fault.  It can get a little lonely though.
Also, still trying to find a job! I'm pretty hopeful about some of the places that I've applied, and I've had a couple of interviews, so cross your fingers for me!
 As a side note, I redesigned Princess Peach from Mario and totally made her from the Victorian Era. I plan on doing the same thing with Princess Daisy. Princess Rosalina, on the other hand, I plan to make from the Regency era, seeing as her dress design lends more to the elegant flowing dresses of Regency versus the elaborate bustle dresses of the Victorian.
I really love bustle dresses. As a child, I didn't understand them. I thought it was stupid to want a dress that makes your butt look bigger. That all changed when we went to a production of Shakespeare's "As You Like It" and the director had decided to give it a Victorian flair. Oh my goodness, those were some of the prettiest gowns I have ever seen. And thus began my lifelong affair with bustle gowns.
Any way, I will try to be more frequent for posts. And I'm sorry if the first paragraph makes me sound like a whiny teenager. It just felt good to type down my feelings. The problem is, I've had too much "me time" this summer, and I tend to dwell on unhappy thoughts. Pay them no mind.
(I'm trying to decide on a way to sign these, since my dear friend Mir1 has the cutest tag line... so how about...)

Love and Sparkles!
Kayla

Saturday, May 4, 2013

I am a Mormon


I made this after the last general conference, based on the talk "I know it. I live it. I love it." By Sister Dibb. http://www.lds.org/general-conference/2012/10/i-know-it-i-live-it-i-love-it?lang=eng

My Little Pony






So, here are some pictures of My Little Pony Friendship is magic that I drew a while ago! It started out as just Rarity, but then Kitsune suggested (more like forced) me to draw Fluttershy (not that I need much forcing to draw Fluttershy-- She's soooo adorable!) And then everyone else kind of followed. I think that Rarity, Fluttershy and Twilight Sparkle turned out the best-- figures, since they're kind of my favorite ponies. I had a lot of fun picking out a brocade fabric for the back that I felt matched the Pony's personality. For their element, I also tried to base it off of a real gemstone cut that also matched their personality. Also, it is really hard to do Pinkie Pie's hair. I couldn't do it all shiny lines like everyone else's, because it's all skewampus curly.  If you couldn't tell, the way I colored them was the portrait part was in their body color, and then the background in their mane color. Then, I colored in the gemstone. 
Also, don't stare to long at Fluttershy or you will have a heart attack from the cuteness.