The past couple of days, I've been able to watch a movie during lunch!! I've been missing that while at work. Since these were movies I don't think anyone who reads this has seen, I thought it would be fun to review them.
First off is Alice in the Country of Hearts: The movie
As a fan of the manga, I was reeeaaally excited when I heard that there was going to be an anime movie version. I finally had the opportunity to watch it yesterday, and here's what I think:
First off, the animation was stunning: Gorgeous backgrounds, flawless transitions, wonderful character animation. I don't remember seeing any animation errors at all. And the way they changed the sky back and forth was astounding. For those of you who aren't familiar with the series, the sky in Wonderland changes without warning; it can go from being the middle of the night to sunset in a flash. Time is relative there.
Second, the characters! As said above, all of the character designs were spot on! And the voices were amazing! Completely perfect with what I had in my mind. And it was nice that Tweedle Dee and Tweedle Dum had slightly different voices, rather than the same for each. And Julius had the most perfect deep melting voice. Sigh.... And the personalities for the characters were spot on as well! I loved the way Vivaldi said, "Off with their head!" In a very authoritative and yet bored manner. And Alice's voice was very perfect- cute and flustered sounding. Which is perfect, because she spends half her time scolding everyone.
Now, on to the plot. Sigh. It was a little confusing for me, and I've read all of the manga. It was done in a way that if you didn't know the story, it would have made no sense. It was difficult to follow as it was. The scenes sort of switched back and forth from flashback to present to flashback, without much transition notice or lead in. That lead to the story line feeling a little disjointed. However, one nice thing was that it went into some details that were a little vague in the book, like what really happened to Alice's sister. And the scene with little Blood and Vivaldi was just so precious! Another fun part was where Alice introduced everyone.
The biggest flaw of the movie was that there wasn't enough Boris. This is a major sin that needs to be rectified; they hinted that there was going to be a sequel, and I hope they do. A sequel might help them tie things up better, and explain them better as well.
Now, despite the story line, the scripting was marvelous! All of the lines were amazing, and the dialogue between characters was hilarious.
All in all, I give the movie three out of five stars. I really loved it, but they should have made things clearer, so that people who have no idea of the story can enjoy it as well. Kind of like Harry Potter; everything makes so much more sense if you've read the books, but they are entertaining regardless of you reading the books or not.
And now, in an attempt to rectify the movies lack of Boris, here he is!!! And by lack, I don't mean that he wasn't in it at all. He had a couple of good scenes. But, seeing as he's probably the most popular character, they could have put him in more.
I love Boris so much. A lot of my inspiration for Cheswick comes from him.
All Righty now! The movie I watched today was.... Drumroll please..........
Pretty Cure All Stars New Stage: Kokoro no tomodachi! (which means friends of the heart, by the way.)
I have to say, I liked it better than the first New stage, but I think All Stars DX 3 is still my all time favorite.
Just like the other precure movies, the animation was amazing!!!!!!!! So many sparkles and rainbows and beautiful colors! Flawless, just flawless. If anything, precure is known for its quality.
And Characters! It was a little sad in the first New Stage how they barely had some of the older precure in it. This time, each generation was well represented. They still didn't have everyone talking, but they had at least one girl from each group say something. I think that it's probably due to the fact that with that many precure, it's expensive and hard to get all of the voice actors, so I'm grateful that Cure Black actually got to speak this time.
One thing I think is interesting about the New Stage movies, is that they have the main characters not be the pretty cure, in a way. This story was about a precure fairy in training who wanted to fight on his own. A shadow creature turned him to the dark side, and they set out to defeat the precure. However, he sees the error of his ways, and changes sides to help the precure defeat the bad guy. I almost started crying in the scene when two of the precure-Cure Beat and Cure Passion- see Gureru (The fairy who turned bad) Helping the precure. When they ask "Weren't you the one helping the shadow?" Gureru starts crying, and explains to them why he did it and asks for their forgiveness. Then, Cure Passion and Beat both smile and forgive him, and then give him some inspirational advice (That's what precure do, they save the world and give inspirational speeches.) Then they leave to go fight some more. This scene especially touched my heart, because both Cure Beat and Cure Passion started off the series as assistants to the bad guys, only later realizing their errors and joining the precures after being befriended by one of the precures. I thought that it was really sweet, because I love it in movies/books when they have someone who has made a mistake comforting someone who made the same mistake.
All in all, I'd give this movie four point five out of five stars. Everything ran smooth, I just wish that there had been a little more precures in it. I like the idea of using other characters for the storyline, but I wish they would incorporate the precures in it a little better. After all, the movies are about seeing all of the past precure again, and having them meet the new precure.
Also, I love the idea of a pretty cure textbook! Except, the villain found a copy, and used it to defeat the precures. Lucky for them, since the Doki Doki precure were pretty new, they weren't in the book yet, so the villain had no idea what he was up against!
Also, Enen and Gureru were the cutest things ever! Enen is the fox, and Gureru is the racoon/bear who went evil and then turned good.
All in all, I'd recommend both movies! They were excellent, in spite of a few flaws.
Love and Sparkles,
Kayla
P.S Sorry for the long post. I wanted to review both movies, and it seemed silly to do two separate posts.


No comments:
Post a Comment