Thursday, August 29, 2013

Kayla's New Apartment

Well, I'm almost completely moved in! Huzzah! I just have a few more things to unpack and move around my room, and then I am done!
So, about my new apartment:
It's really nice, for one thing, and bigger than I had been expecting. It's on the bottom floor, so I don't have to worry about hearing people below me. The only problem is I can hear people above me... I have a reeeeaaally big closet all to myself, with a lot of shelves! And here I was worrying that I wouldn't have enough room to put everything! Now it seems that I have too much...
My bed is really nice too- super comfy. The only problem is that it's a top bunk. Now, it's a lot more sturdy than the one I have at home- that thing, even though it's not going to fall over, shakes like crazy and it feels like the whole thing is going to topple under you while you sleep. This bed doesn't shake at all.  I'm just highly suspicious of anything that is taller than me. And boy is it tall- I can't sit up straight on top, because I'd hit my head, and that's a sensation I'm not used to. It makes me feel tall to hit my head on the ceiling. But besides that, everything is peachy!
And my roommate(s?) are really nice-I've only met one so far, but the other one gets here today!

Love and Sparkles,
Kayla

P.S Is it weird that my bag of stuffed animals is bigger than my bag of shoes? 

Tuesday, August 27, 2013

In which Kayla boxes up her life and sends herself off to college

There is nothing more satisfying than paying the last little bit of tuition with money that you earned yourself. It's official: I am going to college, whether I like it or not.

...Not that I'm not super excited to go to college. On the contrary, I'm ecstatic! I'm just a little nervous about moving away from home. Not that I don't want to- I'm ready to leave. I'm just not sure I'm ready for what moving out signifies. I'm not sure I'm ready to face the idea of growing up and moving out and 'cutting the ol' apron strings', so to speak.
 I'll probably feel better after I've actually moved out.

On a different note, I really shouldn't watch Magical Girl anime when it's "That time of the month" anymore; I cry like crazy, and not just during the inspirational scenes (Which is why I reeeaally shouldn't watch precure during "that time of the month", because part of being a pretty cure is giving inspiration speeches.) I started tearing up today during one of the transformation scenes. A transformation scene, for goodness sake. I remember thinking "It's so beautiful...." And then there were tears in my eyes. I am so pathetic. But it was really beautiful.....
I cry during Tokyo mew mew all the time too. I can't help myself....
No more magical girls for you Kayla! Not until you can control your tears.

Love and sparkles,
Kayla


Okay self I take it back watch as many magical girls as you want! Go watch princess tutu that will make you cry because it is so beautiful!

Movie reviews!

The past couple of days, I've been able to watch a movie during lunch!! I've been missing that while at work. Since these were movies I don't think anyone who reads this has seen, I thought it would be fun to review them.

 First off is Alice in the Country of Hearts: The movie

As a fan of the manga, I was reeeaaally excited when I heard that there was going to be an anime movie version. I finally had the opportunity to watch it yesterday, and here's what I think:

First off, the animation was stunning: Gorgeous backgrounds, flawless transitions, wonderful character animation. I don't remember seeing any animation errors at all. And the way they changed the sky back and forth was astounding. For those of you who aren't familiar with the series, the sky in Wonderland changes without warning; it can go from being the middle of the night to sunset in a flash. Time is relative there.

Second, the characters! As said above, all of the character designs were spot on! And the voices were amazing! Completely perfect with what I had in my mind. And it was nice that Tweedle Dee and Tweedle Dum had slightly different voices, rather than the same for each. And Julius had the most perfect deep melting voice. Sigh.... And the personalities for the characters were spot on as well! I loved the way Vivaldi said, "Off with their head!" In a very authoritative and yet bored manner. And Alice's voice was very perfect- cute and flustered sounding. Which is perfect, because she spends half her time scolding everyone.

Now, on to the plot. Sigh. It was a little confusing for me, and I've read all of the manga. It was done in a way that if you didn't know the story, it would have made no sense. It was difficult to follow as it was. The scenes sort of switched back and forth from flashback to present to flashback, without much transition notice or lead in. That lead to the story line feeling a little disjointed. However, one nice thing was that it went into some details that were a little vague in the book, like what really happened to Alice's sister. And the scene with little Blood and Vivaldi was just so precious! Another fun part was where Alice introduced everyone.

The biggest flaw of the movie was that there wasn't enough Boris. This is a major sin that needs to be rectified; they hinted that there was going to be a sequel, and I hope they do. A sequel might help them tie things up better, and explain them better as well.

Now, despite the story line, the scripting was marvelous! All of the lines were amazing, and the dialogue between characters was hilarious.
All in all, I give the movie three out of five stars. I really loved it, but they should have made things clearer, so that people who have no idea of the story can enjoy it as well. Kind of like Harry Potter; everything makes so much more sense if you've read the books, but they are entertaining regardless of you reading the books or not.

And now, in an attempt to rectify the movies lack of Boris, here he is!!! And by lack, I don't mean that he wasn't in it at all. He had a couple of good scenes. But, seeing as he's probably the most popular character, they could have put him in more.
I love Boris so much. A lot of my inspiration for Cheswick comes from him.

All Righty now! The movie I watched today was.... Drumroll please..........
Pretty Cure All Stars New Stage: Kokoro no tomodachi! (which means friends of the heart, by the way.)

I have to say, I liked it better than the first New stage, but I think All Stars DX 3 is still my all time favorite.
Just like the other precure movies, the animation was amazing!!!!!!!! So many sparkles and rainbows and beautiful colors! Flawless, just flawless. If anything, precure is known for its quality.

And Characters! It was a little sad in the first New Stage how they barely had some of the older precure in it. This time, each generation was well represented. They still didn't have everyone talking, but they had at least one girl from each group say something. I think that it's probably due to the fact that with that many precure, it's expensive and hard to get all of the voice actors, so I'm grateful that Cure Black actually got to speak this time. 

One thing I think is interesting about the New Stage movies, is that they have the main characters not be the pretty cure, in a way. This story was about a precure fairy in training who wanted to fight on his own. A shadow creature turned him to the dark side, and they set out to defeat the precure. However, he sees the error of his ways, and changes sides to help the precure defeat the bad guy. I almost started crying in the scene when two of the precure-Cure Beat and Cure Passion- see Gureru (The fairy who turned bad) Helping the precure. When they ask "Weren't you the one helping the shadow?" Gureru starts crying, and explains to them why he did it and asks for their forgiveness. Then, Cure Passion and Beat both smile and forgive him, and then give him some inspirational advice (That's what precure do, they save the world and give inspirational speeches.) Then they leave to go fight some more. This scene especially touched my heart, because both Cure Beat and Cure Passion started off the series as assistants to the bad guys, only later realizing their errors and joining the precures after being befriended by one of the precures. I thought that it was really sweet, because I love it in movies/books when they have someone who has made a mistake comforting someone who made the same mistake.

All in all, I'd give this movie four point five out of five stars. Everything ran smooth, I just wish that there had been a little more precures in it. I like the idea of using other characters for the storyline, but I wish they would incorporate the precures in it a little better. After all, the movies are about seeing all of the past precure again, and having them meet the new precure.

Also, I love the idea of a pretty cure textbook! Except, the villain found a copy, and used it to defeat the precures. Lucky for them, since the Doki Doki precure were pretty new, they weren't in the book yet, so the villain had no idea what he was up against!

Also, Enen and Gureru were the cutest things ever! Enen is the fox, and Gureru is the racoon/bear who went evil and then turned good.


All in all, I'd recommend both movies! They were excellent, in spite of a few flaws.

Love and Sparkles,
Kayla
P.S Sorry for the long post. I wanted to review both movies, and it seemed silly to do two separate posts.

Monday, August 26, 2013

How to never get caught for Murder

In two easy steps!
1. Never murder someone

2. Repeat step one as often as needed.


All joking aside, sorry that I haven't written anything for the past few days. I've been super busy working and getting ready to move out.

Also, I am making the most sinful dessert every. I should be punished. It's so bad that my mouth waters just thinking of it.
For some context, my mom got a cook book called "Sticky chewy messy gooey." It is basically a book full of the most decadent desserts, with really helpful dessert cooking tips, and information about the difference between caramel and butterscotch, the difference between baking powder and soda, as well as tips on what type of ingredient to use. It also has fun quotes throughout, my favorite being something to the extent of "It's not those without love that seek chocolate, but those without chocolate that seek love." oh, and yes, in my free time sometimes I read cookbooks. I will read anything I can get my hands on.

Anyway, you know those cake pops that are so popular? Well, this book had a picture of some on the back, and I was curious as to what the recipe was-I've just sort of created my own. It turns out, they weren't exactly cake pops....

They were cheese cake pops.

Those of you who really know me well would know that Cheese cake is my weakness. I love it to death.... it's just sooooooooo good!

Anyway, I decided to make them today. Only, we didn't have any sucker sticks, and they are kind of messy to make.... conveniently, my grandma gave me a big box of chocolate molds (I think there is an ulterior motive on her part... She knows that I love making desserts and chocolates, and I think that giving me all the molds was an invitation to make them some) and one of the molds is perfectly shaped for cake balls! Ergo, I am making fancy, non-messy cheesecake balls!!!

Now for the sinful part. You see, the recipe is called New York Cheese Cake pops. New York cheesecake is probably the most deliciously decadent of cheesecakes. For dipping chocolate, we have a bag of dark chocolate Ghiradelli melting chocolates. If you've never tried Ghiradelli chocolates, you've never lived. And then, I had a brilliant idea of adding some caramel sauce to the bottom of the cheesecake-chocolates, making them dark chocolate caramel cheesecake balls of deliciousness...
Oh drool.

And I just took the cheesecake part out of the oven, and it looks fabulous!

Love and Sparkles,
Kayla

Friday, August 9, 2013

Discussion post!

           I really like getting comments on my blog, so I've decided that from time to time I will post discussion posts! These are designed so that I can both talk about things and then you guys can respond with your own answers! :D This is all part of a schedule I'm thinking of... More on that later.

So, Discussion time!
     Your novel-either the one you are working on right now, or your favorite novel you have ever written, etc.- is now being made into a movie! The producers and writers have asked for your help in the movie making process, including but not limited to: Casting the characters, writing the script, and input in the scenery and costuming.
   Letting the authors being involved is a new idea that movie makers have been having. It has lead to movies being very close to the books-just look at Harry Potter 7.  However, it can lead to problems. The movie Ender's game also let the author have his input. The author sort of caused some problems, as there were several details from the book that he insisted be shown in the movie that the producers wanted to cut.  Now, we all know that movies can't be 100% accurate in anything, and that some things from the book will be cut, but what are some things that you as an author wouldn't budge on? What are some details or some scenes that you would insist on being in the movie?

     I think for me my biggest thing would be getting the characters right. I'm okay with giving some leeway on some minor details, but I spend a lot of time designing my character, and I have them designed in the best way possible. I think I would freak if any character detail was the slightest bit off. I would insist on Cheswick having odd colored eyes and pink hair, I don't care how unmanly it may look, it's the way he is, Ameline would have to be albino (I don't care if it would look a little creepy, she's darling and albino and that's that) and Alice has to be blonde and Dorothy has to have brown hair. It's actually a big pet peeve of mine when movies change the hair color of characters.
     As for scenes, I'm not sure. It's kind of the same as the characters: I put a lot of thought into my scenes, and it's hard to decide which ones are unnecessary.  But I have some scenes that I can see being combined and others that aren't as important.

Now what about you?

Love and Sparkles,
Kayla
P.S Stay tuned for the "Which actors would you want to play what character?"