Wednesday, September 25, 2013

Today has been a doozy

And what a doozy of a doozy it was!
I had my first test in the testing center today.
Dun Dun DUUUUUN!
And it went over quite well, actually.
It was everything else that was the doozy.
You see, I love to wear all of my bat regalia-- well, not all of it-- but most of it. And, since this was my first test, I thought that, for prime testing performance, I would most definitely wear all of my bat jewelry. So, this morning I put on my lucky bat necklace, and its matching lucky bat earrings. And then I picked up my bags and started walking to campus...only to realize that I had forgotten my adorable lucky bat ring. Which is named Frederick. Frederick is especially lucky because he has a name, and he's fuzzy and I like to rub his belly when I get frustrated with a test problem. Don't judge.
Anyway, I didn't want my first test to be without Frederick, so I promptly turned around and went home to get him. I then made it back to school without any further incidence.
Then, at the library, I logged onto a computer with the intent of printing out an assignment due that day. I had emailed it to myself late the previous night just for that purpose. Well, when I got onto my email, lo and behold I had emailed myself....but had forgotten to attach the document. I had written "You need sleep" as the title. Apparently, seeing as I couldn't even email properly.
The testing center was open by then, so I decided that I would simply have to walk all. the. way. back. home. after my test. And that's a good half hour there half hour back kind of trip. I got out of my test (Which went splendidly, thanks for asking!) And it was almost 10 o' clock. I have a class at twelve; that would give me an hour for the trip, and then an hour to print/eat lunch/ brush up on the reading/ breath. I pull out my iPod so that I can be occupied for my long commute, and it's almost dead. That's simple, I already have to turn my computer on for my paper, I can just plug it in and charge it... which means that I won't have it for the rest of the day. That is a long walk without music, let me tell you.
So, I emailed it to myself without any more accidents, walked all the way back to school, and went to the JKB to print/get some food from the vending machine (They have sandwiches in those things! And ICE CREAM!!!) And I print of my paper and get some victuals. Then, I go to the MARB for my biology class. Absolutely nothing wrong there.
But then, in my archaeology class (All the way back in the JKB), where the assignment is due, I get to class barely on time, pull out my assignment and...
I'm missing the first page. I must have left it in the printer. I go and talk to the teacher, and she says that I can run and go print it. I sprint back to the printer I had printed on earlier, and some kind soul had removed the first page from the printer, and had left it there on the desk. Thank you, random stranger, for not throwing it away!!!!
And then I take the long walk home.

More stuff happened, but it's not quite as interesting (Well, it does involve walking in the rain without a coat but with an umbrella, but that's another story.)

Love and Sparkles!
Kayla

Monday, September 16, 2013

Sometimes I don't make sense in my head

I literally just had this conversation in my head:

Me: What to eat for dinner?
(looks around in cupboard)
Me: Ooh, pasta sounds good! But I better not; you never know when I might need it later.
(Opens fridge)
Me: I could make something with potatos! Or have a grilled cheese sandwich. But bread is expensive, so I'd better not.
(Looks in freezer)
Me: The frozen dinners look good, except I might need them for another dinner.
(Closes freezer. Pauses for a second.)
Me: Silly Kayla, you need to actually eat something. Your logic is useless if you die now of starvation because you are saving everything for "later".
...
The sad thing is I have a similar 'conversation' every night.


Any way, I also need to stop saving my laundry for Mondays; I figure, no one does laundry on Mondays! It will be brilliant! And then I go into the laundrymat and remember: It's P-day, and all the missionaries are doing their laundry. Figures. It's reeeeaaaalllly awkward when you are trying to put your undergarments in the laundry machine and there's a missionary right next to you.

Love and Sparkles,
Kayla

P.S Don't worry, I do eventually eat something.

Sunday, September 15, 2013

This is kind of creeping me out

My toys rearrange themselves. Either that, or it's like toystory, and they come to life and have their own personality.

This one happened a while ago: I have six beautiful dragon statues that I have arranged in a nice line by color. One morning, I woke up, and the dragons had changed positions, and two of them were facing each other. I fixed them, thinking Meghan had moved them, and that was that. Well, the next morning, the two dragons had moved again, and the one that had been between them was knocked over. I decided to leave the two next to each other. It was obvious they had a thing for each other.

Now, in my apartment, my toys have been doing it again. The first one is explainable, though a little funny, and the second one is kind of sad. I have a giant toothless plushy, from How to train your dragon, and a purple elephant on my bed. This morning, when I woke up, toothless-keep in mind that this plushy has an open mouth-had moved and was nomming my elephant pillow. It looked pretty realistic; I guess he got hungry.

And, just barely, while I was at church, Derpy and the Doctor had an argument. How do I know this?
Because I always keep them nose to nose, looking dreamily into each others' eyes. When I got home, they had moved so that they were angled away from the other person. And this might be my imagination, but they both looked kind of... sad. I know that their faces are painted on, but their eyes looked sad. I know that my roommate didn't move them, because she was at church with me, and we don't touch one another's stuff.

I am going to move them back so they can make up, and hopefully that's the end of it.

Love and sparkles,
Kayla

Wednesday, September 11, 2013

Polls!

Just for fun, and for something I want to try out, I've decided to have regular polls! You can find them to the right.
I just thought that it would be another fun way to have feedback from my viewers! So go and vote!
Remember, the word "Idiot" comes from a Greek word that means "Someone who doesn't vote." Think about it.

Love and Sparkles,
Kayla

P.S I'm sure you're wondering, "Why is Kayla Polling us?" Well, I might be using it for something in the future, and this is just a test run....


Friday, September 6, 2013

In which Kayla survives her first week of College

So, in a nutshell, my week in college went a little bit like this:
Just watch the first little bit, and replace all of the mother worrying with "I can do this" to "oh my gosh, college is going to kill me, ect. ect."

Anyway, this week had it's ups and downs, but overall, I think that I can make it!

.....Hopefully.

So, highlights from this week:
My biology class has an attractive Russian TA,
I absolutely love love love all of my classes
I saw some of the Studio C cast and stared at them like a stalker...
Fun story: So, in English, when we introduced ourselves, we were supposed to say something interesting about ourselves, and so I said "I love the color purple, and I wear it almost every day." And then the professor got really excited and pointed at me and said, "I saw you this morning! I was driving with my little girl, and we saw you at a cross walk, and my daughter, who loves the color purple, was really happy and pointed and said "Mommy! Look! I bet she loves purple too!" You really made my daughter's day.'
Isn't it a great feeling to know that someone was happy just because you were being you? I think so.

Also, a few of my classes have a fun kind of final:
For my Freshmen seminar class (Which is kind of an introductory class about all of the different art majors) the teacher gives us all a pinewood derby kit two weeks before last day of class. Then, we have to make an artsy derby car, and then we get to have a big party in the HFAC (the art building) late at night to race pinewood derbies and to party and to just blow off steam before finals get crazy.

The other final is in my biology class; we have to do a group project (which I'm not too happy about, I sort of hate group projects, but the assignment made up for it) but in that project we have to do a cool presentation about an organism........ From the land of Middle Earth. That's right, readers, we're talking a Lord of the Rings creature!!
In the past, groups have gotten pretty creative- last year, she said, one of the groups had a theater make-up major, and so she made one of the group members into an orc!
Then, of course, the teacher added that while the sky was the limit, we couldn't do anything dangerous, to which one of the male students had to say, "Does that mean that I can't build a fireproof suit, light myself on fire and call myself a balrog?" The teacher laughed and said "Of course you can't" And then she made jokes about it for the rest of the class period.

Love and Sparkles,
Kayla

Wednesday, September 4, 2013

Discussion Post of Magical Awesomeness!

....I might regret using that title later.

So, are you ready for a discussion post again? The last one worked so well (Both readers commented!) That I decided to do another one!

All right, you are now a magical girl. Ah ah ha! Don't argue! You have irrevocably become one of the loftiest beings known to man. And every pre-adolescent girl (And most post adolescent girls too, but we like to pretend differently) wants to know: Just who are you?
And that is where discussion time comes in! What kind of magical girl are you? Are you a kick-butt crime fighter, or do you transform into a pop star? The choice is yours. Just tell us, in this exclusive reveal all news scoop-- I mean, private discussion-- everything that makes you a magical girl.

And I want costume details, what kind--if any-- of mascot you have, what your signature color, phrase, and battle attack are, your weapon of choice, anything and everything.

Now, here's the part where I splurge:
The truth of the matter is, I haven't really thought that much about it. Wait no, really! I do have a costume idea...
(It would look like this, only Purple)
And I'm pretty sure my mascot would be a Bat, or a mouse. But other than that, nothing. I don't know what kind of enemy I'd fight, or what my catch phrase would be. I think weapon wise, I've always kind of preferred bow and arrows, or a nice spear to swords and stuff, but I think I would look cool with an elegent foil clipped to my side. Or I'd just fight with a pretty magic wand!

So, readers, tell me about you!

Love and Sparkles,
Kayla


EXTRA BONUS!!!!!
This made my life!

A penny for your thoughts?

Nay, fair reader, for my thoughts are worth far more than money can buy.

... Which is why I'm going to let you read them for free.

You see, my college schedule leaves me with several breaks in between classes. And by breaks, I mean I've got a good four hour span between my morning and afternoon classes... Yup.

Because of this, I've had a lot of free time with my thoughts as I meander through campus, and whenever said thoughts strike me as FANTASTICALLY BRILLIANT I decide to write them down. However, rereading my musings from the past few days has caused me to realize something:

You know how your little voice that talks to you in your head (No, not those voices)  I mean the way your voice sounds when you are thinking to yourself. Have you ever noticed that it sounds different from the way you normally talk? I've noticed-- with myself especially-- that people have different 'voices', one for friends, one for adults, one in their head, so on and so forth. For example, my sister can be very polite to her elders and strangers, but she can have a very sarcastic 'voice' when she is talking with me or her friends.

Well, here is my discovery: My "mind" voice sounds like a proper English lady. Does this come as a surprise to anyone?
Perhaps, if you ask nicely, I may post some of my musings. One is about a horrid massacre that took place on campus on the first day of school, and the other is about me being bored.

Love and Sparkles,
Kayla

Tuesday, September 3, 2013

In which Kayla almost disrupts class...

...by screaming for joy when the teacher says, "You will have to write a 5-7 page term paper." I didn't even care what the topic was about. I am so excited to have homework again!!!!!! GAH!  I've really been desperate the past little while-- I even offered to write an outline for my sister when she was having problems writing an essay. And then I wrote her an outline... for fun.

But now no more! I can do my own homework!!!

Let's see how long it takes for the joy of homework to wear off. I'm thinking next week.

Love and Sparkles,
Kayla

Monday, September 2, 2013

Wish Me Luck!

So, tomorrow I start college for real! Hooray!!!
Wish me luck!
Tomorrow I just have a three hour long art class starting at eight in the morning (woo-hoo! No seriously, I do my best work in the morning!) and then I have nothing after that until two or so. Party for me not really, I'll be using that to study

Any way, luck to everyone who is starting something new this week!

Love and sparkles,
Kayla